Telugu is a Dravidian language spoken by Telugu people predominantly living in the Indian states of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana, where it is also the official language. It is the most spoken Dravidian language and one of the few languages that has primary official status in more than one Indian state, alongside Hindi and Bengali. Telugu is also a linguistic minority in the states of Odisha, Gujarat, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, West Bengal, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra and Andaman and Nicobar Islands. It is one of six languages designated as classical language by the government of India.